37.74357914112 - 20.933450460434

Title

Church of Panagia Skopiotissa in Skopos

Build Year: 1624
Faith: Eastern Christianity, Eastern Orthodoxy

The church of Panagia (Virgin Mary) Skopiotissa stands at a prominent location at the top of the mountain Skopos, southeast of Zakynthos town. It was the katholikon of one of the oldest monasteries, which is today in ruins. The monastery belonged to “Logotheton” noble family and was constructed before the mid-15thcentury. The first known date relevant to the monastery is 1446 when an ownership dispute was mentioned in a legal document. The complex of the monastery which had flourished before the earthquakes in Zakynthos suffered then great damages. The katholikon is in the center of the monastery complex. The entrance of the monastery was from the northern side. Inside the katholikon, the wall paintings date from two different periods. The oldest layer of colors dates from before 1657 –as the engravings of pilgrims suggest− and the second layer dates from 1699 as epigraphical evidence states. According to scholars, the katholikon was erected in the first half of the 17thcentury. The monastery was an important place of pilgrimage, known outside the island because the icon of Panagia (Virgin Mary)Skopiotissa was considered miraculous. The church of Panagia(Virgin Mary) Skopiotissa is an exceptional sample of post-Byzantine architecture in the form of an isosceles cross.